Diana Banana Pancakes

October 7, 2005

cough cough wipe whimper

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 8:55 pm

I am undoubtedly a WUSSY when it comes to being sick. I am sick, damn it, argh.

I miss this:
Being young and mom would help me feel better…
make me chicken soup or hot cocoa
fix the couch with pillows and blankets so I could lay on the couch and watch some TV
read to me or we’d just chat or I’d nap
being pampered by mommy…”mommmmyyyyyy, I have a headache”
lunch brought to me to eat in my bed or on the couch, mom eating the same thing as me
Mom feeling my forehead, checking for fever
“Open your mouth, let me look at your tonsils/throat”
a warm bath to help bring down the fever and relax sore muscles
my head on mom’s lap while she plays with my hair

When I was married, when the ex was sick I took care of him, got him what he wanted, babied him, and he ate it up…most men do from what I’ve observed over the years, men getting pampered and taken care of by their women, just like their mommy used to do, but 7 out of 10 times it isn’t reciprocated to the degree their women do for them. However, in my marriage, if I was sick, it was “toughen up” or “quit acting like a baby” but if he was sick it was “honnneeyyyyy” and he wanted cuddles then, not much any other time, food brought to him, the whole thing. if I was sick, “get over it”, unless someone was around, then there was a show of “taking care” of me…

So, who takes care of me when I’m sick now? No one. I miss the days of being pampered. I need a good man to take care of me when I’m sick, lol. Someone to make me chicken soup, draw me a bath, come cuddle next to me, big strong, comforting arms around me, maybe play with my hair, bring me blankets and pillows to the couch so I can watch TV, make me breakfast in bed, bring me a magazine to read, offer to do the household chores so I can rest…these are all things I’ve never had from anyone but mom, and not since junior high, I wasn’t sick much in high school. I’d love just for one day to be pampered and babied and taken care of for a change, lol.

But, I do get some TLC from my baby, Ian. My sweet baby boy. (OK so he’s 4-1/2 and lets me know he’s not a baby anymore.)

But today when I picked him up from the bus stop from preschool, this is what happened:

Me: {with my very very deep voice from being sick} “Hi baby, how was school?”
Ian: {look of concern on his face} “Fine, are you sick mommy?”
Me: “Yes baby, so mommy can’t talk too much today, OK?”
Ian” “Ok, but I don’t like when you’re sick because we can’t talk much.”

A few hours later:
Ian: “Mommy, can I have some hot cocoa? You should have some too, since your sick.”
Me: “Good idea, baby. What do you want for dinner?”
Ian: “Mac-n-cheese.”
Me: “Or, how about grilled cheese sandwich and soup?”
Ian: “Well, you really need the soup because you’re sick and soup makes you feel better, so you should have the soup, I’ll just have Mac-n-Cheese.”

haha.

I laid on the couch because my head is pounding, it hasn’t stopped AT ALL since yesterday morning when I woke up. I didn’t sleep well from the tossing and turning. My body feels like someone has punched me a few times. My nose is both stuffy and runny at the same time and I can’t take my effen temperature too much becaues I can’t breathe out of my noise, and its hard as hell to chew food with my mouth closed…bye bye manners, lol. So, as I lay down on the couch, a little boy comes crawling around me and tries to pick up my head.

“Ian, what are you doing?”
“Im trying to put your head on my lap.”
“Mommy’s head is too heavy for your lap.”
so instead he squeezes between me and the back of the couch, wraps his legs so while he’s laying on his side, it “looks” like my head is on his lap, and he hugs my head and puts his head on my shoulder, and we stay like that for a while. then he moves and lays on my belly, head up near mine, and holds my hand and we just lay there. Then he moves and kisses me on the chin (I don’t give him too many kisses when I’m sick, and he remembered and said) “Chin kisses because you don’t want me to get sick.” What a sweetie. Then he went to play.

I feel like crap, but I’m smiling.

1 Comment »

  1. {{Big Hugs}} Diana. I hope you feel better soon. Ian is such a sweetie pie too. Give him a hug for me. I guess I am lucky to have Danny cause he takes care of me when I am sick. He can’t make me soup and stuff like Mom’s do, but he babies me. 🙂 Make Al come and take care of you!! 😀

    Comment by Donna Walk — October 8, 2005 @ 1:29 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

