Diana Banana Pancakes

November 3, 2005

I Forgot WBW!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 6:42 pm

I was so busy being pissed at the ex that I totally forgot about Way Back Wednesday, hehe, ooops!

Here’s this week’s “theme” from Mama Duck on her blog The Kept Woman

Way Back Wednesday: If you show me yours, I’ll show you mine…
This week I got lazy. Or creative, take your pick. Anyway, I figured there was someone out there that plays every week going, “Dammit! When is she going to have a theme to post the largest game you ever shot/caught?” or “What about a picture of you winning Halo on your XBox?” and of course “How about a theme dealing with extreme drunkenness?” This week is for you, my friend. Whatever you want to show us. Knock yourself out.

So, here we are, not necessarily pics that I’ve been itching to show or anything, but they are hilarious, represent a laid back fun time with these family members and family friends, and they were on my puter, lol.

Just a little history: We used to be simple folk…we’d all go to church together on Sundays, and after church most days we’d have a BBQ cookout dinner, or just a pot luck type of dinner together. ALWAYS we’d get together. It was fun, I loved it and miss it, back when it was about getting together, not about “do we go to the beach condo or go on a cruise?” I mean, don’t get me wrong, if I could afford to go to those places every couple of months, you know I’d be doing that, too…but this to me represents when we were all the closest, and that got lost along the way to some extent. All I can say is sometimes money really does change people.

Anyway, at night, after dinner, we’d take group photos, something nice to commemorate. It was usually dark by the time this came around, and a few glasses of wine later the adults would even be goofy, but back then they were all actually kinda goofy and fun anyway. So, my step-dad would set up his camera on the tripod, set the timer and we’d all be cheesing it up. THEN one day someone came up with the bright idea to turn off the lights and set the timer and take a pic…and we started this nutty tradition for a while. This probably lasted about 4 or 5 years, lol. Yeah, we were a goofy bunch. Ahhh the good old days…

Lights on pic… This was around 1990-91. From L to R – Back row: Peggy (godmother’s mom), Tracy (godmother’s sister), Yvonne and Chuck (godparents), My mom and stepdad. From L to R front row: Me (was 17 or 18 here), Tracy’s dog (can’t remember her name to save my life now, Shar-Pei), Matt and Greg (godparent’s middle and youngest boys) and my sister Bobbi.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Lights off – yep, this is what we did, goofy stuff. There were more pics, but some were kinda x-rated, lol…maybe not, but could be misinterpreted, lol.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Lights on pic… This was end of 1992 From L to R – Back row – Matt, Tracy, Greg, Liz (then friend but they no longer talk, lol), Yvonne and Chuck. From L to R Front row – My sister Bobbi, Peggy, me (age 19), my mom and step-dad.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Lights off pic, hahahaha.
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

1 Comment »

  1. What a great traditon! I love the idea of the “lights off” picture!!!

    Comment by Mama Duck — November 4, 2005 @ 1:52 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

