Diana Banana Pancakes

March 16, 2006

At home with a sick kid

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 2:47 pm

I am at home today with Ian. I worked my part time morning job, but had to call in for the afternoon one. Since my step-mom is in Hawaii, I have no “backup”, and of course this is when Ian gets sick enough to not go to school, very slight fever, cough, runny/stuffy nose and sore throat. I was hoping he’d stick it out till Monday when I’m off work (because I have to work next Saturday, I have Monday off), but nope. I’ve never had to call off work unless I was so sick I was running to the bathroom every few minutes or coughing so much I would not be able to hear what I’m typing and was sent home….I’ve never had to take off work because of a child being sick, because up until January, I worked at home Ian’s whole life. So, this is new to me. I HATE being at home, but the daycare wouldn’t take him (which is good in a way because I know that they wouldn’t take another sick kid exposing Ian to their cooties, lol), and the preschool wouldn’t take him, and my backup is in Hawaii, lol. This is one of those things I worried about when looking for a job outside the home. I may have lost a lot of benefits to work at home for the last 5-1/2 years, but there were so many other things I never had to worry about, like this, I never called in sick because I worked at home, I never had to take time off if Ian was sick, I was right there, if he needed a doctor’s appointment in the middle of the day, I could make up my hours on the weekend or later that night, or if it was something I knew would be quick, take my lunch break during that time. It was CONVENIENT. But, then shit went downhill with work and now I’m in one of these situations. I hope he doesn’t stay too sick tomorrow. I’m hoping with the doctor visit today they can tell me what will be best for him, or prescribe antibiotics or something, and hoping that with resting today, lots of liquids and soup, and some medicine in him that he’ll be fine for tomorrow….I don’t want to have another day off! My dad said if I need him to stay with Ian tomorrow he can arrange to work from home, but he would have to know by tonight so he can bring home the stuff he needs to work with, so hopefully I won’t need to call off at all tomorrow. I really didn’t want to call off in my probation period, but being a single mom, what else can I do?

Anyway, he ate some soup already today and has perked up a bit, said his throat feels better (I assume from the warmth of the soup). He has a doctor’s appointment in about an hour, so then from there go get medicine, then bring him home and hopefully put him down for a nap,t hey take nap at his preschool around 12:30 after eating lunch, so trying to stay on that schedule and see if maybe I can get some stuff done while he’s napping, or better yet, I might take advantage and actually try to nap myself. I’ve not been feeling the best health wise, either, and so that might be a good idea, lol. We’ll see.

I’ll be catching up on some blogs later today. I hate knowing that I’m perfectly capable to work….and I’m not doing it, I feel like it makes me look bad, lol. Ugh! oh well. You guys be good (yeah right, I can name a few people who won’t, haha). Later DUDES!

2 Comments »

  1. Shoot, enjoy the day off and enjoy the time with Ian while he’s feeling a wee bit better. Hope he gets to feeling all the way better soon.

    Comment by Mike — March 16, 2006 @ 3:25 pm | Reply

  2. I hope Ian will be all better soon. ((Big Hugs)) Check out my blog and see new pics of my new niece. =)

    Comment by Donna Walk — March 17, 2006 @ 9:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

