Diana Banana Pancakes

May 23, 2006

Conversation with a 5 yr old

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 2:43 pm

Conversations with a 5-year-old:

Ian washing his hands one day:

Me: Do you need me to get your step-stool?

Ian: No.

Me: Are you sure?

Ian: I’m sure, I can reach.

Me (as I peak into the bathroom): Well, you can reach, I didn’t know that.

Ian: Um, did you forget I’m 5?

lol….

Another conversation:

Monday – May 22, 2006 – on the drive from soccer practice to the car wash….

Ian: Mommy, I want to go fishing.

Me: Well, sweetie, I don’t know how.

Ian: I do.

Me: How do you know how to fish? You’ve never fished before.

Ian: I learned it from watching it on TV. (one of his cartoons)

Me: How do you fish, then?

Ian: You put fish food on the hook, then you go like this with your arm (making a throwing motion) and the hook goes into the water, then you go like this and turn it for a little while (I assume he means the reel), then you be patient and be quiet.

Me: Well, that sounds pretty good to me.

Ian: I told you I know how to fish.

This has been a sore subject with me. There are things this kid wants to do that I don’t know how to do or where to go to learn. His dad has promised to take him fishing for the last 2 summers, now approaching the third summer and so far he hasn’t mentioned it yet. His dad told him when he was 3 he was gonna take him fishing, and so all summer he told everyone he talked to that “daddy’s gonna take me fishing.” He never has. I started seeing someone who said he’d take me and Ian, cause damn it I want to learn, too, so I don’t have to depend on others to take him. Well, that ended and no fishing. I kept asking my dad to take us and he was just too busy with work, at that time he was a salary employee and they had a big lay off and so he was doing a lot of overtime and just couldn’t do it. My dad has another house with property that goes down to the Ohio River and a few years back my step-mom had a fishing deck made for him for his birthday. The man is so busy that he’s only been able to use it a handful of times. I have yet to see it, and I LIVED there for a year, cause I’ve never been down that part of the property by myself. Anyway, so we have a place we can fish, just no one to show us how. My ex used to take his son that summer, that’s when my ex had the girlfriend he was trying to impress so suddenly he had a huge interest in Ian, and that’s the summer I finally started dating because I had some free time every other weekend to get out without worrying about trying to bug my parents with their 20 questions and making me feel like I’m 17, lol.

The next spring, the same thing the ex did the same thing, promised Ian he’d take him fishing, ex’s dad even owns a fishing boat, but never asks his dad, and I’m not all that close with his dad to be asking that kind of thing. But, Ian gets his hopes up to go fishing and his dad never takes him. His dad had him most of the time he had to last summer, but it got less and less as he complained about the cost of gas and all that (mind you, he has never paid a dime of child support and up until the year prior maybe saw his son 1 time a month and called about as often, and when we were married and Ian was a baby the man was hardly around and blew his $400 weekly paycheck on his drugs and booze and so I had to work 2 jobs to pay the bills and take care of the kid by myself….WHILE MARRIED….)…ok, I’m not bitter or anything when it comes to this loser….YEAH RIGHT, lol. Anyway, so again he made empty promises and Ian didn’t get to go fishing.

This year he has mentioned wanting to go quite a few times, so I’m determined we are gonna go! I need to find someone who can take us, show us what to do, just once and then I can take him to dad’s house and do that whenever on our own….lol. I am going to ask dad to take us again, but the last 2 summers so much stuff came up that he couldn’t.

Ok, that being said…what do I need? lol…I have no fishing supplies, come on, I’m a city girl! I fished a couple of times before. I went fishing when I was a kid and a couple of summers I spent here in WV with my dad, but heck I was 10 or 12 the last time I went fishing, and once I went deep sea fishing in Hawaii with my step-mom’s brother. We pulled out of the port that they show in the opening credits of Gilligan’s Island, so when we left, the nerds that me and my cousin and sister were, we started singing the song, haha. Yeah, well in our defense my cousin and I were in high school and my sister in elementary school, damn it, lol.

Speaking of that time when I was 10 or 12 fishing….SOMEONE mentioned he saw a pic of me in a damn cowgirl hat (as Ian calls it) boots and that was the only time I remember having a pic of that up was when I was fishing, I have to find out what link he found because that means there are other equally embarrassing pics of me growing up on that link (if its the one I think he’s talking about, lol). I remember that summer well, too. It was the first time I met one of my cousins who live in New York – Tobias. He is 1/2 Puerto Rican I believe? His momma is kinda the black sheep of the family, but Grandpa had them come stay with him one summer, and Tobias is the one I hung out with the most, he was closer to my age. I never saw or heard from him since then, but I have a few pics from that day…the ones that survived…my step-mom dropped her camera into the water while she was climbing over some rocks, lol. Only a few pics survived the water…but it was a good summer, me, my sis, Tobias, mydad and step-mom and my Grandpa, hanging out, fishing, ahhh, good times.

1 Comment »

  1. Do you have one of those stocked pond places by you?? I have taught my little guy a lot of “guy” junk and fishing was one at one of these places. Sometimes they even rent out the equipment.
    It only took one boring session for my little guy to decide fishing wasn’t for him! lol

    Comment by SpAzzGiRL — May 24, 2006 @ 4:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

