Diana Banana Pancakes

October 13, 2006

Da Count for FRIDAY THE 13TH!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 1:14 pm

First of all, my rash is almost gone, and my throat is better, and Ian is feeling better, too. Thanks everyone!

OK, my DA COUNT for Friday the 13th….please see the side bar link for details!

I remember when I was a kid, always wanted to go see the Friday the 13th movies, and the Halloween movies….my mom would always laugh because I was DETERMINED to see these movies….especially the Halloween movies because my birthday is on Halloween…yet, every time I would go to watch it…I took my jacket because it was “cold” in the theaters. In reality….every time the scary background music started, the jacket went over my head. My mom would laugh and ask why I bother to pay to watch a movie that I miss about 1/3 of it. Ahhh, my mom…

Yep, my Da Count today is about my mom, Ma…Mommy….

My mom is from Japan, a little island off of main Japan called Amami-Oshima. I don’t know if I’ve ever been there, if I was, it was before the age of 18 months, because at 18 months old we moved to America. My mom married my dad at the age of 18, and I was born not long after. Dad was in the Marine Corps stationed in Okinawa. I don’t know the details about how they met, probably at a party, probably at a bar, both were young (mom 17 when they met, dad 22, lol…yeah…I know…) mom had mentioned sneaking into the bars off base and stuff, so she probably lied about her age. Naughty naughty, haha. Mom has a confusing family tree. She doesn’t know who her real dad is, never did. Her grandparents adopted her, thus changing everything and, as is custom in Japan, you must do things to “save face” or not disgrace the family, so her birth certificate was even changed, changing her birth date. Her grandparents both passed away when she was about 8 years old, and then she went back to her mom. The man she was raised as thinking was her father was not, but she loved him just the same till her mom and step-dad divorced. I don’t know much else about her childhood, only they didn’t have much. Mom doesn’t talk a whole lot about things back then, and sometimes I wish she would just talk to me about it. I know she was happy for the most part, and sad about things, but she always made the best of what she had, and she taught us to do the same, which I think is where I get it from. Her family didn’t have much money, but she was taught to be happy with what you have…and I definitely see that part of me coming from her.

My mom had me at the age of 18, and 3 years later had my sister. She married my dad, they moved to America where she barely spoke any English. Over the years she learned English and dad was eventually transferred to Hawaii. At the time I believe I was about 5 and my sister was 2, they started fighting, and eventually divorced. I don’t remember too much about that time, but my mom got a job, her being Japanese was a great help in Hawaii as most of you know there are a lot of Japanese speaking people who live there, and she slowly learned English and did the best she could with the help of my dad to be a single mom. They worked together, another thing I learned from her, a thing I try to do with the ex when he’s actually around, to do what is best for us girls. Eventually she met and married my step-dad and has been happily married ever since, having celebrated their 23rd wedding anniversary this past August.

My mom has always been supportive of us. She told me once when she was young that she couldn’t afford to send us to dance and gymnastics like I wanted, but she taught us some stuff she knew from gymnastics when she was in school. She told me once that she wanted to teach us Japanese, but was afraid we’d be like her and have a noticable accent, and so she only taught us a few words here and there, but made sure we knew things about our Japanese culture. Now as adults, mom wishes she would’ve taught us Japanese.

You know that movie The Joy Luck Club? I love that movie, I have a connection to that movie, with the mother/daughter Chinese/American differences, it reminds me of mom and myself, and our Japanese/American differences.

My mom worked hard. She didn’t have many skills as she married so young and was a house wife until a couple of years before she and dad divorced. She was then just a cashier. In her time she’s had jobs as a cashier, waitress and janitoral. She worked her schedules around ours so she was home when us girls got home. She worked late at night. She always did her best to make ends meet, and NOT let us feel we went without. She would make some of our clothes, but always in the current style. She always supported us to be independent. When I was in high school in colorguard and then in dance team, she would take time off work on Fridays to watch me perform with the marching band (I was in colorguard 2 years, then drill team/dance team) at the high school football 1/2 time and then go straight back to work from there…every Friday, religiously. Same with my sister’s performances in band and choir. She always volunteered to do stuff for the boosters for school. She gave her time so willingly and did what it took. It helped that she had my step-dad around. There was a time when she got very ill, was in the hospital for MONTHS, money got even tighter, things got bad, but she always tried to make us feel like things were OK.

She supported me when I got married to my loser ex, even though she didn’t care for him, she supported my decision to marry him, because at that time I was happy. She was in the delivery room when my son was born, she was there for me when I went through my divorce. She told me a few months ago, on Ian’s birthday, that she’s very proud of me, of how far I’ve come, of how well Ian and I are doing. Those simple words make me happy.

My mom, she’s a smart ass one, too, haha. Wonder where I get it from? Hmmm….

Once when we drove to Little Tokyo in Los Angeles, on the freeway she was cut off by a Japanese woman….what did she say? “Damn orientals! Where did you learn to drive?” haha…THAT’s my mom….Cowboys fan, smart-ass, loving mom, doting grandma…she got a tattoo about 5 years ago…that’s her, she’s a free spirit and I love her for it.

OK, hehe…now for some pics. Unfortunately, I’m typing this on my break at work, and so I don’t have any recent pics to show, just whatever is in my photobucket account, so, here are some pics….

At my mom and step-dad’s wedding, August 21, 1983. I’m the taller of the 2 girls. Ya like how my tall step-dad’s head got CUT OFF, haha.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Silly photos, we used to do this, we’d take a nice group photo (this group includes my mom, step-dad, my sister and I, and our family friends….) Mom is in the red shirt, I’m sitting next to her here….then, after the nice group photo, we’d turn off the lights and set the timer and….
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

DO THIS! Be goofy and spontaneous….ahhh, the simple days. Yeah, this was WITHOUT wine or liquor or beer, yo! haha….
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

On a cruise to Mexico, our family christmas present…this was Thanksgiving night, formal dinner….November 1992…Me (20 yrs old), my step-dad, my mom, and my sister (the one who just moved).
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Me and my mom….on the cruise ship deck….
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The family again, Easter Sunday tradition, new dresses, and pics in front of the church after service. This was 1992.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The last few pics are of my mom and Ian, they are the most recent stuff I have in my photobucket account of my mommy….this was while we were all still living in California…the last two was 2 months before she and my step-dad moved to Hawaii, then Ian and loser ex and I moved to West Virginia a month after mom and step-dad moved.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

5 Comments »

  1. A lovely count in more ways than one. A really wonderful tribute. 🙂 Moms totally rock!

    Comment by lecram sinun — October 13, 2006 @ 4:01 pm | Reply

  2. lovely count. let’s hear it for strong feisty moms!

    Comment by lime — October 13, 2006 @ 11:22 pm | Reply

  3. love the layouts of Ian…great pics….i’m back so i will be back around…lol

    Comment by Greta — October 15, 2006 @ 8:14 pm | Reply

  4. Awww….gotta love this post. Your Mom sounds like a fun woman. 🙂

    Comment by Mindless Dribbler — October 16, 2006 @ 3:19 pm | Reply

  5. Awsome post you’ve done here; what a great tribute to your mom, she really sounds like a special lady. peace~art

    Comment by art — October 16, 2006 @ 4:01 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

