Diana Banana Pancakes

October 20, 2006

Da Count – Friday, October 20, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 9:33 am

Its time for Da Count, where you just count the blessings in your life! The good things in your life, no matter how little or big they are in your life….go to Da Count’s link on my side bar for more details!

Today’s Da Count is my step-dad…..Bruce, aka Boo-Boo…haha.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Yep, that’s his nickname, Boo-Boo or just Boo for short. He’s 6 years younger than my mom. He’s only 12 years older than me….do the math guys, my friend Jim, the guy I almost dated but am now just friends with, he’s 10 years older than me, haha.

Bruce met my mom while he went to Hawaii for the summer after he graduated high school. He was 18, his grandparents (who lived in Hawaii) brought him to Hawaii for the summer for a graduation present, and being the responsible person he was, he got a part time job too so he could get more spending money. That’s how he met my mom….who worked as a cashier in the place he worked. This guy who was just 18 dated a woman 6 years older with 2 kids….of course his family at first didn’t like it, but they said after getting to know mom, they all loved her and us….

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
An 18 or 19 year old Bruce, my sister Bobbi and myself in Hawaii.

Mom said the first time she knew Bruce liked her was when she dared him to kiss her, haha, and he did. The rest is pretty much history. They started dating, and 2 years later they moved to California and were married and 23 years later they are still happy in love.

He’s always been a hard worker and took us up like we were his own children. Bruce never had children of his own. Mom had a tubal not long after the divorce from my dad, then she met Bruce. There had been talk over the years of getting it reversed and seeing if they could have one, but my step-dad had personal reasons he was kinda scared to, and so it never happened. But, he’s always treated us girls like his own and worked hard to provide for his instant family.

He treats my mom like his equal. I couldn’t have asked for a better husband for my mom, they mesh so well together, they are each other’s best friend and significant other. They do things together all the time. He works hard and he takes care of mom, and he also spoils her in the little ways. He calls her on his lunch break, he calls her a couple of times a day when he’s away on business trips, he does so many little things for her, he leaves love notes for her. When they have a disagreement, the talk it out…TALK, not yell. They never put each other down, they never yell at each other, they TALK things out, they keep communication open. He is soooo great to my mom, and to us girls. The type of man I want in my life as far as a spouse and a father figure to Ian has the characteristics my step-dad has, especially in the romantic ways my step-dad treats my mom.

Some silly memories: My step dad for YEARS wanted to help us with Halloween, wanted to turn us into candy bars….but we kept saying “nooooo, that’s not cool” hahaha, but when we finally wanted him to….he said “well, now I don’t remember how!” haha. He also used to have this thing for Moon Shoes….haha, he used to want us to get some for YEARS, and we kept saying no, cause again, they weren’t cool….We saw pics of Bruce as a teenager with his red long hair and picturing him wanting us to wear moon boots…so years later when this movie came out, this character will always make me think of Bruce in that way, well, not that Bruce looked like THAT, but that image of moon boots and bruce with his wanting us to get them for YEARS, and Bruce with his long red hair, haha, remeinds me of Napolean Dynamite, hahaha…yeah, look at the pics below, and then look back up at the pic of my stepdad with my sister and myself when he was young, hehehe…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Although, he isn’t much of a dancer and couldn’t bust cool moves like this…hehe
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

He was always very supportive of us girls growing up in any activity or venture we did. He walked me down the aisle along side my dad. He was the first to tell me he was proud of me and how far Ian and I have come from where we were in that crap of a marriage, how I was able to get out and stand on my own two feet, a bit rocky at times, but still able to stand on my own and take care of my son, and that my son is such a happy and healthy boy. This man did a lot for me and my sister and mom, and for Father’s day I made him a picture CD with that song from Brad Paisley, “He Didn’t Have to Be”…which is about a step-father being a great father. That was my step-dad, and even though in the song, its Brad saying he hopes he’s as good a father as his step-father didn’t have to be….it still applies, I hope I’m as good a PARENT as my step-father was, yet didn’t have to be. So, a last pic of my step-dad, and the video with the song I mentioned above.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Ian and Papaw Boo-Boo in California at Disneyland, May 2004

The song I used on my step-dad’s father’s day photo/music CD…..

5 Comments »

  1. I have a stepfather just like yours! He is wonderful! Have a great weekend! Love to ya! Doll

    Comment by Penny Doll — October 20, 2006 @ 12:55 pm | Reply

  2. very cool post D

    Comment by art — October 20, 2006 @ 1:42 pm | Reply

  3. my step dad was a youngin’ when he met my mom with 2 kids too and 4 years younger, except mine was a jackass. LOL
    you were way lucky girl! Happy bday boo!

    Comment by SpAzzGiRL — October 20, 2006 @ 2:46 pm | Reply

  4. A beautiful count. Just from the read I can tell that the love and pride goes both ways. Cheers!

    Comment by lecram sinun — October 20, 2006 @ 5:47 pm | Reply

  5. This was incredibly sweet!!

    Comment by Bekah — October 23, 2006 @ 8:33 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

