Diana Banana Pancakes

October 27, 2006

I need a break – vent

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 10:38 am

I need time to rest, to REALLY rest, I’m talking bubble bath, or lounging with my feet up and watching whatever I want on TV or having the time to actually read more than 1 chapter of a book a night, time to go see a movie in a theater….THAT kind of time, that kind of break….but I won’t get one.

My work has started wanting more OT, the hospital job, the NEW job. I have 2 jobs, its something I pointed out in the beginning that OT will be hard for me not only because I have two jobs, but because I’m a single mom with parents who both work full time and have their own OT. I told them if this job entails a lot of OT, I will have a hard time with the OT so I maybe should look elsewhere. I was told I wouldn’t have to worry about the OT, yet now I’m getting hounded by one woman because I’m NOT working any OT. She lives at work, everyone else in the office says she LOVES the OT money, so she will work it and then also demands everyone else work the OT as well. I was told by her a few days back that I need to do more, and I said that I’m working 2 jobs, its not like I have my 8 hours and then go home and have all this free time. I told her I work a second job already, AND I have Ian by myself. I told her I can try to work on my lunch breaks, which means I’ll be working WITHOUT OT PAY for 2-1/2 hrs a week…and she said “that’s only 1/2 hr” like that wasn’t good enough. She wants a mandatory Saturday to work when all the office employees HAVE to work, she said it could be as long as 12 hours AND SUNDAY….well, of COURSE, that weekend just HAPPENS to coincide with HER WEEKEND TO WORK ANYWAY, so she won’t be forced to work on her day off. Also, she is telling all of US that we need to push more and get these old reports off BEFORE the end of the month….yet SHE happens to have already taken 1 week off for vacation earlier this month, and is now again gone for 3 more days (plus the weekend)….oh yeah, and while she has been off, and she is PUSHING for us to work MORE….she has moved me, she CLAIMS by someone else’s idea, but SHE was the one in the meeting, she has moved me to train for 4 hrs a day in radiology department….which is 4 hrs LESS of me doing those reports she is PUSHING us to catch up…..

What I’ve learned from everyone at the hospital is that she always does this, she shuffles people around so the old stuff will be there, so we NEVER get caught up, that way we can always have the OT, they said cause she likes the OT. BUT, its gonna backfire, cause they’re gonna see its cheaper to hire a transcription service instead of constantly paying OT….but I can’t believe she doesn’t see that happening.

This woman is the one who I THOUGHT was very nice and that she was brutal at work but nice otherwise. However, NOW she is holding all the little things I’ve told her about my situation (single mom, needing the 2 jobs, needing the health benefits) over my head. Everyone else in the office said THAT is how she is, she is manipulative and she will threaten to get what she wants. So, when I told her that I may not have a sitter on that particular saturday that she said was our Mandatory OT day, so I asked if I could work it on another weekend, she said “you need to find a sitter.” and I said “I don’t have a sitter, just my parents and they are gonna be out of town that weekend.” and she said “you’re dating someone, have HIM watch Ian.” what????? I’ve only dated TE a couple of months, and while I don’t mind him being around Ian with ME THERE, I don’t know him well enough to leave my child alone with him for 12 HOURS!! I told her that and I told her that I only get 3 hours a day with my son, and that INCLUDES getting him up and ready in the morning, and she knows why I can’t work late during the week, and I told her I could work on my lunch breaks, to which she said thats only 1/2 hr and I said isn’t that better than nothing? and then I said on weekends its hard because I have to make sure I have a sitter first, to which she said “You know, I hate to sound unsympathetic, but you’re not the only one with a cross to bear. I might lose my vacation time, and that’s not fair to ME. You’re not the only one with family at home you want to see.” I said “I know, and I never said I was the only one with a cross to bear, but my situation is a lot different from yours and I’m trying to figure out a way to work it out” and she said “Like I said, I hate to sound unsympathetic, but Donna” (the other worker) “and I have been there already, we’ve worked 12 hr days and not been able to see our family.” and I just sat there and shook my head and went back to work without talking to her anymore that afternoon, and yes, she had me in fucking TEARS from the pure frustration!

I talked to Donna the next day and told her what happened, she said “why would she say we’ve been there? We have never been single parents, we weren’t working like this when we had kids at home at all, at least I wasn’t and I know she wasn’t.”

Apparently DOnna told a couple of other people what that woman said, too, some of them even recommended me looking for something better. They said I’m young, and obviously this isn’t a “temporary” situation because I’m a single mom, this will always be an issue as long as SHE is in charge of our part of the medical records department. See EVERYONE in our department (transcriptionists) said she does that shit to them all, only none of them have had young kids to worry about, they all said that they all have complained to the MAIN boss-lady and SHE never does anything about it….probably because our boss-lady KISSES her ass is what they said. They said she has made more than just me cry, and that before I came along this woman had chased off 3 transcriptionists before me.

The thing that pisses me off the most is, its not like I was trying to AVOID the OT, I was trying to figure out a way to DO IT, and she shot down my efforts like they weren’t good enough.

My part time, at-home job started offering health insurance. But, the main reasons I left that job was for a while it was becoming very unstable AND no health insurance. Well, now they offer the health insurance, 401K and paid vacation…and the work has been getting steady.

I have been thinking of looking for something else. At the time that I took this job, I was offered 2 others, and I should’ve taken them, but this was the closest and at the time it was that reason that kept me here in my small town. So, I was thinking of looking elsewhere….but….and I know this sounds even more selfish, but I worry about losing my chance at vacation in July, my chance to see my mom and step-dad again after 3 years (it will be 3 years when we get there July 2007), and the chance for Ian to spend some time with his grandparents….

so…

My hope is to hold on to both jobs for now, till after my vacation, and then see if the part time job stays steady the whole time, and then go back to working at home full time, only this time with benefits (cause that is the main thing keeping me at the hospital right now)….and I was already told by this hospital I could work from home if I have to, but they won’t offer benefits to at home people, so my plan is to try to work from home with BOTH jobs, part time for the hospital I work for now, but at home, and full time for the at-home job that has benefits, that way I can still be here for all of Ian’s stuff and not have to miss out like I have since January, AND I’d be making more money technically because I wouldn’t have the added cost of daycare and gas to drive to/from work…I could work at night while Ian is asleep and sleep while he’s in school….THAT is my light at the end of the tunnel….does that sound feasible? Of course, this won’t be till after my vacation, to make sure the part time job will be steady enough to work full time again and not be too stressed with money.

Anyway, aside from that, some stuff that we’re doing this weekend…

Friday (today) – I made Ian promise if he was good all this week we will go bowling on Friday, and so far he’s been good. So, so far tonight is bowling. TE might show up too, depending on if he gets off work in time.

Saturday – TE is coming to Ian’s soccer game which starts at 9 am….LAST GAME OF THE SEASON! TE has been to 1 game and tomorrow will be the 2nd…and Ian’s own father hasn’t been to a single game this season, or last season….oh, did I mention that TE has spent more time with my son than his own father has? TE lives farther away than my ex, by about 20 minutes…. After the soccer game, go home, change and head to the city where I need to hit Michael’s and a school supply store for some Christmas gift craft project items, and buy something for 2 boys who Ian is going to their birthday party on Sunday (twins), then going to Chuck E. Cheese for Ian for lunch, a surprise for him, hehe. I can’t stand that place, but Ian loves it….and then back to my place. We plan to watch a movie or two, then I have to work for about 4 hours for my at home job while TE and Ian will probably watch more TV and/or play video games, then we are all gonna have dinner.

Sunday I am leaving to work at the hospital at 8 am, dropping Ian off at my dad’s house, my step-mom and dad will have Ian so I can work 4 hrs OT on my day off, then coming home, that is as long as they can watch him they have something to do that afternoon. When I come home, I have 1/2 hr to get Ian ready for a birthday party for a set of boy twins in his class, its a dress up party so of COURSE Ian wants to go, so going to that and then after dad and my step-mom get back from what they had planned to do, then we’re going to dinner for my birthday (which my birthday is actually Tuesday, but trick-or-treating is that day so we won’t have time to go to dinner that day, and the weekend AFTER is my weekend to work.) I could forgo my birthday dinner and get some stuff around the house, but its gonna be at my fave Japanese restaurant, and I’m just dying to GET AWAY, so maybe it IS my own fault, like that woman said, that I could do other things, but I don’t make it a priority….

So, that’s my weekend. Oh, if you did the math, including the 2 days “off” that I’m atually working 4 hrs for both jobs (one on one day and the other job on the other day) plus on Tuesday when I’m “off” for my birthday I still have to work at my part time job, and Thursday when I’m “off” for my other day off, I work my part time at home job, and then have training a few hours later for the at-home job (new system they are starting) and THEN while Ian is still in school, heading to the hospital to get in about 5 hours of work on MY DAY OFF, then I work the weekend….and our MANDATORY OT day she is wanting us to work is the next weekend, 2 12 hour days….so do the math, I won’t have a day off from any job for 26 days….yep…but apparently I don’t make an effort at all……

6 Comments »

  1. I bow at your feet! You truly are an exceptional woman, Diana! I don’t have any idea how you do all that you do! Take a little time for yourself it at all possible. When you get a chance, google “workplace bullying”. I have one of those at my work. The information there will help you cope with the situation by understanding the behavior and why she does the nasty shit she does. Hugs to you! The Doll

    Comment by Penny Doll — October 27, 2006 @ 1:20 pm | Reply

  2. It is illegal for you to work for a company without getting paid. if you work even just 1/2 hour a day at your job without pay for that time the company is opening themselves up to a major lawsuit. peace~art

    Comment by art — October 27, 2006 @ 1:46 pm | Reply

  3. This is exactly the reason that I am po’ I sacrafice having stuff to spend time with the kid, always have. Until he gets older I just can’t justify the “cost” of not spending time with him.
    Hope you can find a way to make it all work!

    Comment by SpAzzGiRL — October 27, 2006 @ 2:49 pm | Reply

  4. Penny Doll – aren’t you the best? I kinda just do what I have to, but let me tell ya, it ain’t purdy….I’m unorganized, I forget things constantly, more than I usually do! I have actually missed paying a bill because it just slipped through all the confusion, but its paid now that I found it. I am constantly tired and exhausted, my body hurts, my head hurts, I’ve gained weight AND my blood pressure has gone up….its definitely not purdy….I’m hoping there’s a light at the end of the tunnel and I keep telling myself that its all for Ian to do what he wants to do like soccer, T-ball, birthday parties with friends, even silly trips to Chuck E. Cheese that before this I couldn’t afford to do because….well, that’s a whole other blog entry!

    Art – Its only a lawsuit waiting to happen if I want to sue them, which I don’t. Its the only time I can do any OT during the week while I’m working, and NOT lose the 2+ hrs I have with Ian before he has to go to bed, and I’m also working a few hours on my day off, as well. I’m volunteering to work this 1/2 hr lunch because otherwise I can’t work any OT during the week which she is bugging me about.

    Spazzgirl – I’ve been poor, like almost losing my apartment poor, like on foodstamps and worrying about whether or not I could afford to get my son a winter coat poor…..the bills are an accumulation of my time with the ex, and I paid off one of the bills HE created linked to me ($2000) last year with my tax refund so that they would stop hasselling me….so to ME, yes, I compromise my time with my son to pay my bills, but, it was never intended to be a long term situation, but I refuse to lose any more precious time with him over a JOB. I already have another prospect out there that I’m going to call about tonight. 🙂 I hope I can work it out, too….trust me, I don’t have much at all, my car is 12 years old, I have not had new furniture except Ian’s “big boy” twin bed, I don’t have anything fancy or nice, so I definitely don’t spend a lot of money, the bills I have are from PAST stuff with the ex and stuff I had to spend on credit cards to survive when I had to do it. Wish me luck girlie!

    Comment by Diana — October 27, 2006 @ 4:31 pm | Reply

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW! Was hoping you’d post today but you didn’t yet. So HAVE A HAPPY BIRTHDAY YOU!! AND WE’LL HAVE A GREAT DAY TOO! EVERYBODY PLAY CAUSE IT’S DI’S SPECIAL DAY…HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! (All rights reserved by Blue’s Clue’s)
    Love ya! Doll

    Comment by Penny Doll — October 30, 2006 @ 8:16 pm | Reply

  6. I know Diana…I was expecting so a birthday post!! Don’t worry, we all know you’re gettin on up there in the age department 😉 We won’t tell no one!

    Happy Belated Birthday anyway!

    Comment by Mindless Dribbler — November 1, 2006 @ 5:44 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

