Diana Banana Pancakes

December 18, 2006

Just a catch up – lots of pics of gift stuff

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 6:19 pm

Well, I was off this weekend and was trying to get everything done, and OMIGOSH, haha….

I was trying to make some gifts using a soldering iron, the first time I used it, it wasn’t looking nice, and so I gave up to try again when I wasn’t frustrated, so I went to try again this weekend, and the soldering iron WASN’T WORKING at all…..and I was hoping to make about 7 gifts with that thing, so I had to come up with a plan B and I feel like a dweeb….but here are some of the things I’ve made for gifts for my parents in Hawaii….in addition to small other gifts I gave, not a lot, but from my heart…

Lip Balm/chapstick/lipstick Cozies, haha, basically little holders for your lip balm. My step-dad has a fascination with WWI planes, so I happened to find some scrap material of WWI planes and, OF COURSE, I HAD to make his out of that material, which of course I forgot to take a picture of grrrrr, and I had this asian type of material and made these for my sisters, my dad has one made out of Marine Corps emblem material (yes, former Marine) and my mom and step-mom also got the asian ones. I am not much of a sewer at all, never learned and I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to learn how to sew properly, haha, but I did these by hand based off this tutorial on craftster.org. They took a while since I had to hand sew them, but it was fun to make, and I made them using these clips so they could be clipped onto backpacks, belt loops, or put on a keychain, whatever. I made one for Ian from the same WWI plane material as my step-dad’s, cause Ian wanted the plane, so now if I could find it I could post a picture. The girlies could put a tube of lipstick in there, also, I made it to fit both.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The next thing I made were what was supposed to be small pendants or charms, but the soldering iron thing wasn’t working, so I had these glass marbles that I had to come up with ideas for, and so I made these clothespin magnets for my parents from Ian, very simple and Ian got to help make them which he was happy about….got the idea for these of some family craft sites. Ian wants to make some for our own fridge, hehe. I also made these marble magnets which I made similar types last year for my step-mom with pics of the family, these are for my mom to go with the clothespin magnets from Ian.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Also had this big plan to embroider kitchen towels for my mom, but with no time to actually sit down and hand embroider, and also given the fact that I just have never done this before, I ended up just doing this basic sakura (cherry blossom) flower pattern instead, made 2 of these, just took a pic of one….I’m doing something similar for my step-mom, as well as the clothespin magnets from Ian to her, too, but with different design and paint on those….anyway, so here’s my first and only time ever embroidering and I wish I could do the fancy stuff by hand, but no time and no experience led to just this….

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And lastly, a shadow-box photo of Ian holding a flower, only the flower is a silk flower to make it look 3D, again, I am unoriginal as far as creating gifts with my own ideas, haha, so I saw this HERE on the gallery at twopeasinabucket.com and tried my hand at it.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

That’s all I’ve made thus far and working on a clock and photocoasters similar to what I did last year, but for other people in the family….

Anyway, Ian’s class is having the kids wear PJs to school on Wednesday because they are going to “ride the polar express”….his teacher is fun and had them already make passports and “travel” to Mexico, Africa, England and some other places. They brought home their little passports which are freaking cute and I’m going to have to scan that and show it later, but he’s excited to get to wear PJs to school, haha. He’ll be wearing his batman ones he said, haha.

Anyway, I’m anxiously looking forward to meeting James in person. We’re going to have lunch on the Saturday before New Year’s, and if I can get a sitter then we will go out on New Year’s Eve, which I’m hoping I can do since I’m off work New Year’s Day…I’m very anxious to see if I can get to go. He said he’ll surprise me with plans since I told him I’m up for anything, so it should be fun. We’ve talked on the phone often this past weekend, an hour on Friday evening, hour and a half on Saturday and 5 hours yesterday after Ian went to bed, yep, talked from 10 pm till 3 am, since I was off work today it was fine with me. He and I talk about everything and he can definitely carry his end of the conversation, so at the least when he gets here, it will be a good time with good conversation.

My mind has a million things on it, but wanted to get these pics up while I was thinking about it, so off I go to finish my “to do” list before Christmas! 🙂

I’ll try to read some blogs tomorrow, hope everyone had a gret weekend!

2 Comments »

  1. I like what you’ve made so far very cool stuff especially fond of the picture box photo of your son with the flower,(great job). Haven’t heard from you in a while but glad to know everything is going ok for you guys. peace~art

    Comment by art — December 19, 2006 @ 3:26 pm | Reply

  2. Merry Christmas…..i really am digging the stuff you made….

    Comment by Greta — December 21, 2006 @ 2:21 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

