Diana Banana Pancakes

February 8, 2007

Lots has happened in the past few days….

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 10:33 am

First off, after much number crunching….I have decided to take the other at-home gig!!!! Some of you may remember my post a few months back about my wanting to leave the hospital job because of the stupid office drama, the fact that they want OT when I already have a second job (which I need to keep because the OT they offer isn’t steady and I need the second job to pay for daycare), and I only have so many hours a day with Ian as it is and constantly on the go and so little time with Ian has been eating away at me.

Well, I found that new at-home gig a few months back, through some of the girls that were also considering leaving for the same reasons, and because of the same mean woman. The insurance is a bit high, but still do-able…the benefits are the same as the hospital (401K, paid vacation, holiday pay, etc)…..

But the PERSONAL benefits are what makes it worth the higher insurance cost….

* No more office drama to deal with. I can just DO MY WORK and call it a day, which is all anyone really wants to do.

* more time with Ian!!!!!! THE MOST important reason I’m changing jobs! I hate not being able to see him more than 3 hours a day. I hate missing his soccer or T-ball games and practices. I hate when I have to pick him up from daycare which he goes to right after school, and 2-1/2 hours later I have to put him into bed on a week night.

* Now I will be able to pick him up from school, I can take him to his sports practices, I can VOLUNTEER at his school since I’ll be working 5 am to 1:30 pm…MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY!

* No more weekends to have to find someone to watch him so I can work, no more missed sports games.

* If Ian is sick and can’t go to school, or if they have a snow day, I won’t have to use my vacation time or try to find someone to watch him, I just won’t have to miss work because I’ll already be at work at home.

* If my car doesn’t start (like on Tuesday) I can still work because I won’t have to drive anywhere anyway!

* If I want to go visit my mom in Hawaii for longer, I can just take my computer with me and Ian will get to spend time with my mom, and I will be able to have a working vacation because with this job I can work anywhere in the WORLD as long as there is internet access and my computer with their software on it. (I’m actually thinking of doing this for this summer when we go see my mom. I ran the idea by dad already that since we will be there 2 weeks, I may take an extra 2 weeks either before or after and stay with mom so Ian and mom and my step-dad can have more time together, and I will still work and not have days with no pay. I’m not sure yet if I will do that since I have a dog that I’d have to board, so I if I do that I’d have to see how much it costs for boarding first, but its an option I have at least now.

So, this job may be a lot higher in insurance, but the personal benefits to me make it SO worth it!

I’m excited!! VERY excited!! I’ve done my taxes and will get a refund, and so I’m going to buy a laptop just for work so I can take it anywhere if I need to.

Anyway, there has been talk of me and Ian maybe moving back to California, too. I have personal reasons I want to go back, so if this happens (which won’t be till June at the earliest), then this job will be great then, too, because I won’t have to look for employment while I’m there, I’ll already have my job.

I’m so happy, excited, happy!

I start on February 26th!! Bye bye office drama, hello TIME, and daydreaming of the future….

Anyway… some pics from Friday Friday (Feb 2) Ian was sick and had a fever and we stayed home.

Us on the way to the doctor’s office, sitting in the car after we just got in there…
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ian was trying to breathe on the window to make it steam up from the inside of the warmed up car, lol….

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ian and I were checking out the snowflakes on his arm…he realized something and said “Hey mom, they really ARE snowflake shaped!” hahaha “just like the paper ones we made in school!” Too freaking cute!
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I had to take him to the doctor 2 times on Friday because the first time he had his fever and a blister on the back of his throat. He was prescribed antibiotics by the new PA at Ian’s doctor’s office, without doing a strep screen, she told us he has strep. So, we go home, I have him eat before I give him medicine, and a few hours later he starts developing a rash. He was bored, so I offered to spike his hair, so we went to the bathroom to get his hair wet and I noticed a bump on his forehead, about 2 inches long, 1/2 inch tall right over his eyebrow, and I asked what he did to his head. he said nothing, but it itches. So I look again and notice that there is redness there, and it travels down the side of his face around his ears, down his jaw line, down his neck, what the hell is that? So I make him take off his shirt and its on his shoulders and on his back down to the bottom of the shoulder blades, welts, redness…..

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

so of course I start asking questions, did he feel a pinch or poke or did something bite him? No….what did he eat? Only thing he ate that he’s never eaten before was I had bought some low fat graham crackers. He’s had graham crackers, but not this low fat version. I was gonna just go to the store and get him some Benadryl, but they were BIG welts, so I decided to take him in to the walk-in clinic in town instead. So, we go (and the hot doctor is there again) haha, and he takes a look at Ian, asks questions: No new detergent or soap, no medications yet, only new food was that graham cracker….he said it is hives, Urticaria. He said it could be that he’s developed an allergy to something he already has eaten before. He said even adults can develop allergies to some things. He isn’t having problems breathing or anything, doesn’t feel like his throat is tight, just that itching and the welts. He said OR it could be that his body is reacting to fighting whatever is making him sick. I told him about the other doctor visit and she said strep without doing a screen and he said they’d do a strep screen, because if it ISN’T strep, the antibiotics they gave him doesn’t cover a lot of other things, so he did it, NO STREP, so he gave us another antibiotic to use that kills more germies than what he was originally given. He also prescribed prednisolone and children’s Benadryl. So, took all that and the hives were gone, came back the next morning, took the medication again, they were gone, and none since that second morning…whew!

4 Comments »

  1. damn. glad he’s doing better. So what do you do in the new gig? transcription?

    Comment by art — February 8, 2007 @ 2:38 pm | Reply

  2. Glad the at home gig will work out, kids grow up waaayyy fast. And without sending him to daycare, I bet he’ll get sick less.

    Comment by SpAzzGiRL — February 8, 2007 @ 4:08 pm | Reply

  3. i am so happy for you to not have to go to work anymore…that is awesome…i need a job like that…..although i am not disciplined enough for that 🙂

    Comment by Greta — February 9, 2007 @ 4:12 am | Reply

  4. What a little cutie pie you get to have in your back seat!! He’s too cute!
    I hope he is feeling better, I haven’t read your blog in a while, I am a slacker….sorry girl, you know I love you right?
    My little nephew came down with chicken pox last week and I am still crossing my fingers that my son doesn’t get it too!

    Comment by Bekah — February 12, 2007 @ 6:56 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

