Diana Banana Pancakes

June 18, 2007

Father’s day weekend…lots of pics

Filed under: Uncategorized — dianabananapancakes @ 11:34 am

Hey everyone, hope everyone had a great Father’s day. I spent mine with two of my favorite men, my dad and my grandpa! I’ll tell more of that later, lets start with Saturday….

Friday my friend Christine called and said, lets go to the bar tomorrow night. Ian is still at his dad’s, and she had someone to watch her kids for 2 hours, so we made the plan. I’m not really a bar person, never have been, but decided screw it, I’m holed up in this apartment most of the darn day, and on my off time, I’m busy trying to catch up on household chores or spend time with Ian, or SLEEP….so figured why not, I’ll go, something different. So, got dressed and she picked me up and off we went. It was a small bar, a few notches up from a redneck bar, but it was good to just relax and have a drink. I’m such a LIGHT WEIGHT, haha, they got a good laugh at the girl who had to have more OJ added to her screwdriver, haha. The bartender I assume was nice, haha.

We then hit the video slot machines there, I hadn’t played those kind before, just the video black-jack, so I decided to play. I put in $2, the bartender girl was also playing, and CHristine was playing. The bartender showed me how to play and hey, I got lucky! After only $2 I won $30, cashed out, and then decided to play more. Since CHristine bought my drink, I gave her some money to play as well, I played other machines, but they didn’t like me, so went back to the one I got lucky on the first time, and wouldn’t ya know it, I won another $20! So, haha, Christine lovingly called me a lucky bitch, and the bartender lady, I think her name was Ruth? said I was lucky, hehe. When all was said and done, I had arrived at the bar with only $10, and after playing the machines I came home with $35. Thanks Christine for getting me out of the apartment! Even if I am a light weight, it was fun, lol.

So, the sitter time was up, she dropped me back home…some pics just for giggles after she took me home….
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
What is this one about? hahahaha….

I finally did do a few reports, but after 1 drink, yep, 1 friggin screwdriver, and I was tired, so I went to bed, lol.

Sunday dad and my step-mom and my sister and I headed to my grandpa’s for father’s day. I rode with my sister, who drove separately because she had to leave early to go back to her college-town. So, we got to catch up and talk and ended up talking the whole 2 hours, it was great to be able to just talk with her and have that much time to talk. Lately it seems when she’s in town, she is so busy trying to make time to visit all her friends, and I’m always seeming to be working, that we don’t really get to spend that much time together anymore. We talked about her man, about my lack of a man and what happened, talked about the parentals (as she calls them), about her job and apartment, about Ian, and of course, about HAWAII.

We headed to the store to pick up some food stuffs and some wood putty as Grandpa asked dad to fix some things for him around the house, so on the way we stopped in this section….dad got a scooter from the family as a father’s day gift…he’s been hinting for a few weeks now, haha….so my sister being the goof that she is, tried on the helmet for my stepmom, and I happened to have my camera…the helmet was still in the hard plastic cover, haha…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

As you all know, my grandpa has been in and out of the hospital since February. He had been released again to home on Friday and dad decided we were gonna spend Father’s day with him. I really really had to work, but I said screw it, its Father’s day and I’m going. So, hopefully work will continue to pick up to make up for not working at all yesterday. Grandpa’s wife was back in the hospital. It seems they take turns, she comes home, a day or so later he goes in, he comes home, a day or so she goes in. They haven’t seen very much of each other in the past few months. But, grandpa seemed to be in a great mood when we went, spent the whole day, talking, catching up, listening to him just talk and talk until he had to calm down and catch his breath. I just sat with him in the living room while he napped and I read a book he gave me to read. We rotate books to read, me, dad and grandpa. Its our “thing” hehe. We got to meet his care-taker who stopped by on her way to church and she is a lot like some of my family, so its no wonder they really like her. She seems very nice and did take the time to come out on her day off just to say hi to my grandpa, which to me shows she really does care. She is going on vacation for a week, so she didn’t even have to, but she came to check up on him one last time before she left first thing in the morning.

Grandpa kept asking about my sister, how she’s doing, he doesn’t know all the drama she’s had to go through, we don’t want to worry him, but she is doing so much better now and getting back on her feet, so I wasn’t lying when I told him she’s doing great, and he said “next time you talk to her, you tell her I love her.” and I said I will, and he said “if she calls me here, you wake me up, ok?” He told us all he loves us quite a lot….which he did anyway, but he made a point to keep saying it and say “I really appreciate you helping me honey.” We all helped around the house, my family that lives in the same town got a break for a day because they are all rotating to help take care of Grandpa, and we live a couple of hours away and so on the weekends they get a break while dad and my step-mom come help out. My sister was in tears when I called her later to tell her grandpa has been asking about her. She hates that she can’t get away to come see him, she can’t leave her job due to financial restraints and she is the only one who does HER job, and she just moved into her own place (well, renting a room from a family), and so her finances are strapped, dad of course would get her a ticket, but she can’t get away from work, and she’s upset about all that. She also can’t stand to hear someone she loves sick, and so just knowing grandpa was asking about her brought her to tears. I told her not to let grandpa hear her cry because he I think was just trying to put on a show for all of us that he is doing great…and she talked with me a bit until she was ready to talk to him. Right after that she talked to me a bit so she coudl cry it out and pull it together before talking to dad. She did good, grandpa and her talked a bit, got to say they loved each other, and she didn’t cry until she got off the phone with him.

While there, grandpa’s little brother stopped by. I’ve seen pictures of him, but I have never met him. Now both of them live a few blocks from each other, so they can visit more often. It was great to meet my Great Uncle Claude and I got some pics of them chatting, and one really good pic of the both of them.

first the men talking…
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Grandpa and his brother Claude

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Dad and Grandpa being animated while he talks

My grandpa….
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Those stubborn old men were not gonna smile, so I counted to 3, pretended like i was taking the picture, and they were stone-faced, then I made a silly face and they smiled and CLICK! HA, I WIN! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great shot and I will print it up for both of them and take it to them next time I go to see grandpa.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here are some other shots from that day, and a silly face my grandpa was making when we took a pic together.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Me and Grandpa

I told him, “you better smile” and he said, “when I smile I ruin the picture” and well…uh….ok grandpa….hahaha…
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

dad watering grandpa’s plants….
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Hope everyone had a great father’s day weekend. Oh, haha, my sister said Happy Father’s Day to me, and I said “oh yeah, cause that’s me” and she said “girl, you are more of a mother AND FATHER to Ian than his own dad has ever been.” Ha, she made me feel great that day.

Oh, and bonus, on the way home, hello STARBUCKS, white chocolate mocha iced…decaf of course. My indulgence as that is the nearest starbucks to me….2 HRS AWAY! lol…..
Starbucks indulgence…
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

1 Comment »

  1. You got a nice freakin’ camera Diana…takes awesome pictures. Don’t you love the “old men”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad you had a good day and glad you got your tail up out of the apartment and went and did stuff!

    Comment by Slick — June 19, 2007 @ 5:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

